Monday, September 24, 2007

Running game improves in ugly win

I consider the Atlanta Falcons to be our biggest rival with Tampa Bay Bucaneers right up there with them. I mean, I have more respect for Tampa because according to me, their fans are more knowledgeable and classy. Anyways, there is no love lost with the punk-a$$ falcons and their fans ever since I started following this team.

Besides us getting shredded in the Georgia dome in ‘97 for 50+ points , the two Michael Vick personal shut-out beat-downs to us in 2002, our play-off clinching season finale drubbing of them Georgia dome in 2005 and a few others, our games with the falcons have always been chippy, scrappy, heartbreaking and full of fights. It is always a war with this piece of sh** excuse for a team. I kid the falconsJ. Talking about heartbreaking, what panther fan can ever forget that Michael Vick dive in 2004 that tied a game we had in the bag and falcons eventually won in OT. I felt personally stabbed by Vick man. I actually missed a flight watching that sh** J. My point is most games with them are classic dogfights. I digress.

With the absence of Vick, I am just glad our rivalry with the falcons is as intense as ever.

So, on to yesterday’s game; After getting being manhandled in every aspect of the game for the second straight week, in the middle of the third quarter Falcons cornerback DeAngelo Hall blinked first in his fantasy duel with Smitty. The result was D-Hall single handedly handing us the momentum as he picked a nice moment to implode and gave us 67 yards on a drive that was going to get a field goal at best. Thanks baby come again :-) Thanks also to Spin Tk for th honorary Panther Jersey(top left) :-)

Only positive for us was the running game. We need a lotta work, I mean a lot of we are going to be a play-off team. And with Tampa looking good and coming to Charlotte next week, an early division lead is at stake.

Our secondary keeps getting beat down like they stole money from opponents. Someone stop the bleeding please. Our safeties need…I don’t know…they just look terrible. Matt Schaub and Joey Harrington have picked them apart. I can only imagine what Jeff Garcia, Payton Manning etc… will do to them unless they step up their game.

Jake got hurt, but I am not as down on David Carr as most of our fans. I think he will do very well.

Special teams keep giving up great field positions. Someone stop the bleeding there as well.

It is official. Julius peppers is in his annual disappearing act. I think this may be a cool thing, because it only means he is getting it out of his system early in the season. You know he will explode at some point. The beast will be unleashed in an opportune time, or it is wishful thinking of a fan that is too passionate about his team. Until then, I am content with scrappy ugly wins J

All in all, we sucked ball$ for the second straight week, but this time we won this week. Granted were lucky to win this game, I just have the feeling that we can’t possibly play any worse than the last two weeks. It will only get better. Our improved running game is a tiny evidence of what is to come hopefully. Great Job Deshaun and D-Will.

No comments: